Good Advice

Standard

I honestly can’t remember how I first found out about YA author Jackson Pearce, but I have been a fan of her blog for quite some time. I hadn’t been by in a while, but decided to check it out after class this evening. She had a wonderful video about how to write a book that I thought I would pass along. Most of the advice is common sense or obvious, some might say, but I thought it was well done nonetheless.

She talks about writing books one word at a time and starting now. I am driving myself crazy because I don’t know all the particulars from point A to point Z in my wip. Interesting enough, that has been driving me crazy in my own life as well…it always is. I try to orchestrate every little detail but that’s not how life, or writing works.

Yes, I can slave over an outline until I figure out every twist and turn, but what I’ve learned in the past is that really amazing characters worth writing about will take my hand and lead me down the alley to a better story than the one I had planned on. Needing to know or control all of it is really just another procrastination at this point.

Tonight in class during a break, I starting writing notes about the story. I started getting frustrated by not having the answers…so I started writing questions. I have an entire page of questions – big ones and little ones. Amazingly, just the act of asking those questions freed something up and I was given some thing to work with.

E.L. Doctorow said, “Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” In other words, start now. Be willing to write crap. Revise and do it again, every day!

Here’s the link to the video as well for good measure! Happy writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

