Happy Easter Egg

Standard

I’m excited to be up in Buena Vista for a long weekend. I haven’t been up here since Labor Day of last year which is crazy. I sleep so well up here, but this morning I woke up with a headache because I wasn’t acclimated to the altitude. I just lounged today, which was a nice change of pace. Tomorrow I need to work on some homework and work on my wip. I’m trying to seduce my characters into showing their faces again. I had been blocked for so long…I need to get into their heads again.  I’ve been working on character exercises and I’m feeling more connected.

I’m also feeling nostalgic. Easter was such a big deal for my family. My mom’s side of the family boasted over one hundred people and we’d all convene in my grandma’s little Pepto Bismal Pink house. My brother and I would dye all the eggs every year. We would boil 5 or 6 dozen eggs and color for hours and hours. Now, one dozen seems like such a waste – we have them colored in no time! Easter makes me miss my grandma and what she symbolized in our family. You all agree that you’ll still get together after their gone but it soon falls apart. I remember thinking about this only hours after she had passes that things had already changed.

I’ll think about her as I’m dying eggs and at church on Sunday. I’ll miss her too! I guess I’ll have to distract myself with my elusive characters…

Leave a Reply

