Twilight Musings

Standard

I forgot to blog about this after I finished the series so I thought that would be a good topic for today.

I am on the fence about these books, much like others out there in blogville I’m sure. New Moon is my favorite book in the series and I am really excited to see what they come up with for the movie. The rest of the books are ranked as follows, in my humble opinion:
2. Eclipse
3. Twilight
4. Breaking Dawn

I would first like to say I really enjoyed the books as an escape. I threw myself into them and it was an interesting and exciting world to inhabit for a while. That is the beauty of fiction.

As a grown-up I can see these books as entertainment and take them as they are, but I understand the hesitation of a lot of people out there, because teens are fanatical about this series. As a writer, the idea of such public acclaim is exciting, but terrifying. I think Stephenie Meyer’s has handled the backlash of Breaking Dawn really well. I appreciated her blog about the controversy. It is true that no book is going to please everyone.

I also understand why a lot of people don’t like the series, especially the controversy about Bella. I had a very interesting conversation with a doctor who really disliked the series. He has a fourteen-year-old daughter who is obsessed with the books and he is very bewildered by it. He dis-liked the writing, but he was especially worked up about Bella’s behavior. He also was really upset that there were no “real” consequences for her actions. That bothered me as well.

I told him that New Moon was my favorite and he agreed it was the best book in the series. I found it so interesting that his daughter and her friends really disliked New Moon. I liked it because it was the only book in the series where there were real consequences – Edward thinks he is protecting Bella by leaving, but he almost kills her with a broken heart and extreme depression in process. Bella develops true love, not romanticized love for Jacob. Bella almost loses Edward for good by being reckless.There is also a sense that maybe Jacob has an equal opportunity for her heart, which made me excited to read Eclipse.

It bothers me that so many teen fans dislike New Moon for these realistic elements. I think you can write a fantasy, even a teen vampire romance, but it has to have real cause and effect to make it more than an interesting world to read about for a week.

Maybe if I was fifteen again I would feel differently, but maybe not. I wasn’t your normal fifteen-year-old back then and my preferences might not be any different. It’s hard to know. I do know as a grown-up that the love between Jacob and Bella feels real. It is complicated, but deep and beautiful. I was really bothered in Breaking Dawn because it felt like Edward really didn’t know Bella very well.
Edward is hot, and definitely the first vampire to ever do it for me, but I have grown into a woman who wants the real thing, not the fantasy.

At the very least, I am glad I read them because I can discuss them and my opinions about them will help shape my YA manuscripts.
There is my two cents on the matter. Okay, rant over.

Leave a Reply

