Hospitals

Standard

I have unfortunately spent my fair share of time in hospitals. Today I had to take my mom to the hospital for a test. As soon as the front doors parted for us to enter, that tell-tale smell of “sick” rushed up my nose. It doesn’t matter how nice or new a hospital is – it still has that smell. It doesn’t bother me as much as it used to, but if I never had to enter a hospital again, I would not have any hard feelings.

My mom’s lungs are giving her fits again and they think that is what is causing her heart problems. She found out today that one of the breathing medications she is on has heart related side effects. It is so frustrating to get more sick when you are just trying to be well. Medication is indeed a double-edged sword.

I had a wonderful day in terms of writing though, typing (and a very hot guy behind the check-out desk) were great distractions for my adverse reaction to hospitals. I sat there in the waiting room and typed for over an hour. Then Mom and I had a wonderful breakfast at Lucille’s. The coffee was strong and the biscuits were great. For weeks I have been working on my blurb for a punchier query. I found a wonderful article linked at http://www.jacksonpearce.com (if you are interested) on writing blurbs, and it was honestly the best I have seen on the subject.

This afternoon I re-wrote the blurb and I couldn’t be more pleased. It is exactly what I need to introduce the story without giving too much away. I will hopefully be finished typing these last two chapters by the weekend and can get them off to Colette, copy-editor extraordinaire. Then it is off to the agents, here’s intending – this new sparkly blurb will illicit a lot of requests!

Leave a Reply

