Savvy

Standard

Last night I had to make a trip to the bookstore to find a novel I need to read with one of my students. I was on a very limited budget, which is dangerous for me in a bookstore! I made my way to the Children’s Department knowing all too well I should have just left with the novel already under my arm.

I had read some pre-press for a new book called “Savvy” by Ingrid Law and was very impressed with the premise. I made a mental note that I wanted to read it, so when it stared back at me from the shelf last night I had to pick it up.

I knew from the first couple of sentences that this book was unlike anything I had ever read. The voice was so unique and strong. Exactly what you try to accomplish in those first pages as a writer. Ingrid has done it, and done it well.

I had to buy it and proceeded to read the first chapter to my parents as soon as I got to there house for dinner last night.

“Savvy” is so unique and wonderful, I wish Ingrid all the success in the world. Please do everyone a favor and read this splendid book right away!

I have been a bit blocked with the re-write of an important scene in my novel. Last night after reading “Savvy” aloud, something inside my brain loosened up and the scene started to play out in my head. I was washing my face and had to go write it down. I love when another person’s creative musings inspire and push me in the right direction with my own work.

Ingrid also lives in Colorado and the more I learn about her, the closer I feel to her. She is my new example of hope to be patient. I will find the right agent and editor and someday in the not to distant future, my baby will be staring up at someone else from it’s home on the shelf.

Read “Savvy” now – drop what you are doing and go to the bookstore ASAP, you won’t be disappointed and I won’t even say, “I told you so!”

Leave a Reply

