March

Standard

I can’t believe it is already March. I have not posted since October and I feel bad about it. So many things have changed since October. I was so busy finishing up school and rehearsing/performing with the Romero Troupe that blogging got away from me.

No fear – I am back!

The end of 2007 and the beginning of 2008 have been really interesting. I am in between worlds and it isn’t always comfortable. I am not where I’ve been, but I am not quite where I am going either. Transitions are tough.

I am taking steps to further commit to my art. After attending a great conference in February in New York, I have been inspired by something divine to tighten up my novel and get it out into the world as soon as possible.

That said, I have had the hardest time committing to a schedule to get writing in everyday. I was very sick most of the month of February and did not have the energy, which in hindsight might have been a blessing because I was able to marinate on the new ideas and make the story work in my head before I committed it to paper.

I have just taken a job that will allow for creative interaction with books and people by day, allow me to still tutor part time, and have the time and energy to write daily on a schedule before work. It is a minimal stress environment and very flexible. I am nervous because it doesn’t pay as well as I would like, but I guess that will keep me hungry and motivated to finish the writing and ultimately to write more.

Music has seriously been on the back burner because I just got a voice back this last week. After nearly a month of no singing, I will have to work back into it slowly. I do have a couple gigs in April to look forward to.

Yesterday afternoon, I was watching an episode of the Artist Den where Ben Harper was showcased. I have learned so many things from this man and I hope I have the opportunity to thank him someday. He said all kinds of wonderful things that my wounded spirit needed to hear. And I wrote a song for the first time in months. Just lyrics so far, but it is a start in the right direction.

I know I am headed into a brand new chapter in the life of Mary. It feels strange but very exciting at the same time….

I will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

