Break through

Standard

I have been avoiding my short story for months. It has been lurking in my document folder, mocking my inability to revise. I can be so assertive and determined in most of my life, yet I also seem to put my creative life on the back burner for everything else. My family, school, the newest reality shows on MTV. I was shaken by the movie “Into the Wild” this weekend and today very much out of now where, I sat down at the computer and revised my short story. I even called a retired teacher I know to proof read it for me before I submit it to a literary journal at the end of the week.

Whether it is fear of failure or the fear of success that trips me up I am not sure. I am sure that it felt good to write today and the only hope I have is that I will find my way back to the page again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

